Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   ScootDawg Forums > Performance :: Maintenance :: Technical > 50cc - 124cc

Old 11-11-2013, 11:50 PM   #1

Hi Maintaining a Peace Sports 50cc

I joined this forum to shed some light about scooters and things of the like. So far I've been riding them for a year, and have owned two. My first was 2012 Tao Tao which wasn't bad. The belt broke earlier this year and sadly, I just let it sit and go to crap. I recently bought a Peace Sports 50cc scooter for $150 dollars. I'm not sure about the model or year, but its your typical run of the mill peace sports scooter. The people I bought it from said it needed a new throttle cable, but I inspected it and my diagnosis was a carb problem. I'm not a very mechanical savvy guy, I'm a newb, but I have common sense and know when something's out of my hands. I have an old friend that does nothing but work on small engines. He's an older fellow who does it as a hobby. He cleaned the carb and adjusted the valves to get the perfection compression and the scoot runs like a charm. Even in the cold, it runs fine as long as it warms up. I've drove it in below freezing temperatures and its a trooper. I assume everything is stock and derestricted, except for the cdi box. I'm 180lbs and on flat land it runs at between 40 and 45mph. 50+ downhill. And a solid 35-40 uphill. It has 6000 kms on it. Now here is my question, since its tuned and running at what I assume is its full potential at the moment, what should I do to get the most out of this beast? What's the best way to maintain it? And for you experts, what aftermarket parts would you reccomend to put on it to get it above or at 50mph? Any info would be useful, as I'm still new to scooters.

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 11-12-2013, 12:42 AM   #2