Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   ScootDawg Forums > Performance :: Maintenance :: Technical > 50cc - 124cc

Old 02-02-2017, 10:03 PM   #1

Question before I buy

I am new to scootering. I have a 2009 Kymco People 150, and will be taking my licensing class in April. I have been running on a permit and have found that I enjoy it , so I decided I might get a 50cc for occasional use as well as being in the garage for the rest of the family to enjoy.
Today I looked at the Benelli sprint and the Benelli Breeze and I was impressed by them.
Questions remain however. I am 200 lbs and may be carrying up to 15-20 lbs at times. I live in the foothills of the Alleganys. Not the Rockies mind you, but I will occasionally hit fairly steep hills, which at most may be 1/4 mile in length. Will I be getting off the scooter to help push it up the hill ?

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 02-03-2017, 08:46 AM   #2

I had a chinese scoot a while back and had to put in 4.5g rollers to get me up hills. I'm 200 lbs. Even used it in the mtns, but very steep hills it barely made it. I'd consult with shops in your area and see what they suggest.
Old 02-03-2017, 09:26 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by skyrider View Post
I had a chinese scoot a while back and had to put in 4.5g rollers to get me up hills. I'm 200 lbs. Even used it in the mtns, but very steep hills it barely made it. I'd consult with shops in your area and see what they suggest.
Thanks skyrider I appreciate your help. Now, on those very steep hills where it barely made it..does that mean you had to push with your feet, or was it just very slow ?

Old 02-03-2017, 04:52 PM   #4

Barely made it means forced lower rpm, and turn around if you need foot power.

I've been modifying these 50cc GY6s for about 5 years, and for MY 200lbs, this is what works...