Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   ScootDawg Forums > Performance :: Maintenance :: Technical > 125cc - 249cc

Old Yesterday, 03:41 PM   #1

Italika D150 Sputters and Dies - Please Help

While I have an extensive background in Automotive maintenance/mechanics, I am new to scooters and know next to nothing about carburetors (other than them being a pain in the ass).

I have a D150 (150cc) Italika 4 stroke scooter. Months ago it began sputtering and dying. I'd go 100 feet and it would die. It would take forever to start again, go 500 feet and die, etc... I drained the gas tank, drained the fuel lines, replaced the fuel lines, replaced the fuel filter, blew out the carburetor with carb cleaner, re-assembled everything, filled with fresh gas and voila... she was back up and running like new. I hypothesized there must have been water in the gas somewhere, but here we are several months later and it's back to the same sputtering and dying garbage. I drained the gas, not a drop of water in it...