Go Back   ScootDawg Forums > General > New Member Introductions

Old 02-25-2016, 09:05 PM   #1

Hey, new to scooters/wife scared

Hey, i'm new to scooter, i spent the last 3 years, scrimping', savin' to buy the best stuff for my scooter. this month i was going to get all the machining done, and mock up my new hi po fuely engine. then it happened, i live in a small town and a guy on a scooter was a victim of a hit and run-unfortunately he passed. Now my wife wants me to sell everything. I'm confused, so i'm asking all you veteran scooter guys if it really is as dangerous to ride a scooter as all my family or friends are telling me. or is it just like any other motor vehicle? i really dream of getting it done and getting the wind in my hair. so help if you can. Rooster

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 02-25-2016, 10:52 PM   #2

Welcome to the forum!
Old 02-25-2016, 11:20 PM   #3

New rider here. So I guess you take my two cents as you please.

Riding is inherently dangerous because aside from a helmet (if you even wear one) and other protective gear (which most who even wear helmets forgo) you have nothing else to protect you from an impact. Physics will win the battle between you and the asphalt. Numbers seem to point to most of my rides being OK, but there's a lot more risk involved than driving. Even a subcompact vehicle with a crumple zone, airbags, seat belts, etc...

But really...as someone who used to only drive to get where they were going...I don't want a car. I enjoy riding much more than a car...rain, risk, rednecks and all. I've yet to have a close call, but I know it only takes one bad move (likely by someone else) and that's that; no more paying taxes for me.

So yeah, it's not safe, and neither is driving a car by some numbers. So it's the matter of questioning whether or not you wanna worry the SO, or just wait until the heat dies down from the unrelated incident and just carry on.
- 12v Li-Ion Battery
- NGK Spark Plug Sticker (adds .01HP)